Manuscript Wishlist (MSWL)

20476432_10154948543943230_8347023331577600124_n

My wish list…

Last updated: August 2, 2019

Mission Statement:

I look for books that delight readers, that help inspire wonder and imagination, that foster deep empathy and compassion for our fellow human beings, that provide rich character representation of marginalized people groups, that take the reader on an adventure, that uncover fascinating stories from history’s footnotes, that explore issues of faith, that celebrate women and the female experience, that ask nitty gritty questions and don’t settle for easy answers, that make people disappointed when they have to close the book and go to bed, and books that add a touch of magic to readers’ lives. 

What I represent, in general:

  1. Picture books
  2. Middle Grade
  3. Young Adult
  4. Graphic Novels (MG/YA)
  5. Gift/coffee table books
  6. Adult Nonfiction
  7. Books for both the general market, and the Christian market

In 2019:

  1. In 2019 I’m particularly wanting to sign more picture book author/illustrator clients, graphic novelists, and diverse voices in general! I’m also eager for a fun YA Rom Com, and a mermaid novel.

PICTURE BOOKS:

    1. Delightfully diverse—books like Hair Love, My Papi Has a Motorcycle, Honeysmoke, Alma, The Sandwich Swap, Under My Hijab.
    2. Humor. (I loved Maria the Matador, Dragons Love Tacos, The Bad Seed, Brunhilda’s Backwards Day, I Don’t Like Koala.)
    3. Magical books—(I loved The Night Gardener, The Antlered Ship, Ocean Meets Sky, The Bear and the Piano, The Fantastic Flying Books of Morris Lessmore, anything by Emily Winfield-Martin or David Weisner for reference.)
    4. Mermaids!
    5. Stories that celebrate the ordinary magic of everyday life: moments like capturing fireflies, making bread, watching a bird murmuration, the Northern Lights, planting a seed and having it grow into a living plant, and so on.
    6. A joyful picture book about karaoke—sort of like the karaoke equivalent of HIP-HOP LOLLIPOP. 🎤♥️
    7. Pop science, or exploring something peculiar that happens in nature (unique/quirky animals, plants, etc.)
    8. Food + cooking + recipes (making a family recipe)
    9. A story from history’s footnotes
    10. Foster family, adoption, or any sort of blended, non-traditional family structure
    11. Story ft. Native American family (Own Voices)
    12. House-cleansing or blessing ceremonies/traditions
    13. Spooky. Ghosts! If it was somehow possible for an author/illustrator to do a spooky-yet-entirely-kid-friendly picture book about russalka, I would die of happiness. (See How to Make Friends with a Ghost for my spooky book crush.)
    14. Girl power
    15. Quirky story about cats
    16. Would love a raccoon story. ❤
    17. Creative/artistic process (in the vein of The Wonder, The Dot, Ish)
    18. Bilingual (esp. Spanish/English)
    19. I’m on the hunt for a funny Christian PB!

MIDDLE GRADE:

  1. Slice of life, Own Voices stories in the vein of Front Desk by Kelly Yang
  2. Magical realism
  3. Graphic novels (I loved Pashmina)
  4. Mermaids!
  5. Historical fiction
  6. Mystery (esp. in the vein of The Dollhouse Murders)
  7. Take me on an adventure!
  8. Anything magic-tinged
  9. Multicultural slice of life
  10. Epistolary novel between two pen pals

YOUNG ADULT:

  1. Mermaids! The catch is that I’m not looking for the falls-in-love-with-a-human trope, or something that features wars and kingdoms and sea politics. So I guess I want a… quiet mermaid novel? ✨🐚🧜🏿‍♀️🧜🏽‍♀️🌊
  2. Rom Com, featuring a diverse couple. I’m looking for a high concept instant hook.
  3. Thriller/Suspense (I loved One Of Us is Lying by Karen McManus)
  4. Contemporary realistic (particularly if it’s an #OwnVoices piece, or if it’s voice-y/in the vein of Robyn Schneider/John Green)
  5. Graphic novels
  6. Magical Realism (I loved The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender  by Leslie Walton)
  7. Mystery (I am loving the Truly Devious series by Maureen Johnson)
  8. Anything CREEPY. I love anything with a horror or Gothic element.
  9. I would LOVE a Romance set in the Seattle grunge scene
  10. Voice-y
  11. I love books with a very atmospheric setting—boarding school, lighthouse, forest, things like that.

ADULT BOOKS:

  1. Fun coffee table books
  2. Cookbooks
  3. A gift book centered around linguistics
  4. Science—”pop” science, citizen science
  5. Drone photography book
  6. Photography coffee table books (especially would love something funny + clever, in the vein of The Art of Clean Up)
  7. Books that tow the line between lifestyle + cookbook (books like Scandinavian Gatherings, Fika: The Art of the Swedish Coffee Break, How to Hygge, The Year of Cozy, etc.)
  8. Guidebook for how to live a fair trade lifestyle
  9. Guidebook/workbook for self-care
  10. Quirky/novelty gift books/coffee table books
  11. Interactive journals
  12. Poetry with a visual element attached
  13. Adult fiction for the Christian market (not Amish fiction)
  14. Devotionals with a unique hook

NOT QUITE MY CUP OF TEA:

  1. Memoirs
  2. Sports stories
  3. Erotica
  4. Space operas
  5. Super hero stories
  6. Amish Fiction
  7. Angel/Demon narratives
  8. Epic Fantasy
  9. Stories with a “dreamscape” element

11 thoughts on “Manuscript Wishlist (MSWL)

  1. I’ve been trudging my way through scads of (oh-so-dry) MSWL this week, and none have been particularly exciting or inspiring until now. This! This is how picture books should be! Full of substance and delight!

    My background in public health has already inspired me to start working on picture book ideas for 6, 10, 15, and 22. I’m a bit giddy to see someone else in this industry with a passion for diversity, science, Christ, social justice, fair trade, and glow worms! You’ll be hearing more from me in 2018.

    Like

  2. It made my heart smile to read your request for books on applying Christ’s teachings as well as books on the Jewish tradition. That is Christ’s teachings in action. I’m cooking up some sticky spaghetti to gently toss at your lovely wall. Julia Richardson

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Should I just e-mail you my query? I didn’t see any submission guidelines, and I want to make sure it gets the the correct place. Thanks so much!

    Like

  4. I have the same question as Lindsey Slater (above). What is the best way to get a submission to you? Thank you, and God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s